Ever sent a friend request to someone on Facebook and later wished you hadn’t done that? There was no way to cancel a friend request earlier other than blocking the user completely. Today Facebook has added a new feature which enables you to cancel any friend requests you have sent, if you want.
To do so, just visit the user’s profile whom you have requested to be your friend. Once you arrive on their profile, you’ll see a text which says “Awaiting friend confirmation” as displayed in the picture below.
All you need to do is click on the “X” next to the text and the request will be cancelled. You will then get a confirmation that the request indeed is cancelled as shown below.