How to Delete Windows 10 Synced Settings from Microsoft Account

Print Page

In Windows 10 and Windows RT, Microsoft had introduced the ability for users to synchronize their personal settings, which include app settings, saved passwords, desktop personalization, themes, bookmarks and more, across multiple PCs on connecting their Microsoft account. This could be an extremely useful feature when you reset or refresh your PC, or buy a new PC, and sign-in with the same Microsoft account, these settings are synced to that new device, letting you pick up where you left off.

However, what if you wanted to dump all your customized settings and start from a clean slate? Thankfully, Microsoft already has a solution for this…

Delete Windows 10 Synced Settings

Delete Windows 10 Personal SettingsĀ from Microsoft Account

Microsoft uses SkyDrive to save your synced data, and it has made available a special Windows 8 Personal Settings web page in there to delete your synced settings. Simply follow these two steps to remove your data from the cloud:

  1. Disable sync settings on each PC that is connected with your Microsoft account. To do this, go to PC Settings, Sync your settings, and then turn off Sync settings on this PC.
  2. Once done, visit http://skydrive.live.com/win8personalsettingsprivacy and click on the grey Remove button.

Do note that there’s no way of recovering your settings after following the above instructions.

That’s all there is to it. You can now re-enable sync on your PC to upload your new settings.